Half as Hard and Twice as Good

9 01 2014

IMG_3919Today my husband Rodney and I will celebrate 21 years of married bliss…well it’s not all been blissful. Because neither of us is perfect, our marriage is certainly not perfect. He does things that get on my nerves. I do stuff that drives him crazy. We each have the tools to build each other up and the ammunition to shoot each other down. Trust me, we’ve used both over these 21 years. Learning to live intimately with someone is not for the faint of heart. We are selfish people looking out for number 1 (and I don’t mean God) way too often.

Maybe I’m speaking more about myself than about Rodney. He’s always looking out for me and doing for me. For instance, this awesome man of mine cooks dinner almost every night of the week. And I mean he cooks wonderful meals. We can count on a delicious meal every night of the week! I am very, very grateful! He loves to cook and I do not, so it works great for us.

For at least 16 years he has worked hard so that I could be home with our three incredible boys. I never had to walk away from them each day wondering if I was doing the right thing. We made some financial sacrifices and did without the newest stuff so that I could be there teaching them and kissing boo boos every single day. Not that it was always easy to be there EVERY SINGLE day. Some days I wanted to drop them off with someone else and run far, far, far, far away. Rodney came home more than once to find me crying and lamenting over what a horrible mom I was.

Right now I am in school full time at JSU working on my teaching certification. He stands ready to take kids to school, pick kids up at school, take kids to the doctor or orthodontist, buy groceries (which he usually does anyway), or a anything else that I may need help with because of my hectic schedule. He is my partner and I don’t know what I’d do without him. I could go on and on and on, but I fear I might make other husbands look bad if I do (LOL).

The title of this blog entry comes from a Sara Groves song. She writes and sings songs that really minister to us (especially as a couple).

When I am down and need to cry till morning
I know just where I am going
When I’m in need of sweet commiseration
To speak out loud

Raise a glass to friendship and to knowing
You don’t have to go alone
We’ll raise our hearts to share each other’s burdens
On this road

Every burden I have carried, every joy, it’s understood
Life with you is half as hard and twice as good

With my good news you’re dancing on the table
Baby’s born to celebration
The joy of life, oh, what a sweet communion
Shared with you

Every burden I have carried, every joy, it’s understood
Life with you is half as hard and twice as good

With every burden I have carried, with every joy it’s understood
Life with you is half as hard and twice as good

I know we’re growing older
Can you imagine what that will bring?
It’s all a mystery to me now, this one thing
It’ll be half as hard and twice as good

Rodney Prickett,
We have shared the highest highs and the lowest lows together. God has blessed us beyond measure and allowed us to be a part of some of His most amazing works. I love you with every ounce of my being and want nothing more than for us to serve Christ together wherever He leads for the rest of our lives. Together we are raising three great sons, who I pray end up with the best of our qualities and hearts sold out to Jesus. I love you. I love you. I love you. Life with you is half as hard and twice as good! Happy 21st Anniversary!

 

PS  Here’s the video to the song, if you’d like to watch:    http://vimeo.com/7672956

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

